Possum Quilt Block

I haven’t looked very hard, but I haven’t ever seen a possum quilt block.  Yet, that’s just what I’ve been working on, specifically for my Charley Harper quilt.

PossumBlock.jpg

This is part of a needleturn applique project introduced in an earlier post.  If you’re familiar with Charley Harper’s original, you may know that this version is lacking some of the detail, notably the whisker dots on the possums’ noses.  There are two reasons for this.  One is that I didn’t want to clutter up the clean lines with imprecise dots (it is incredibly difficult to replicate the precision of the original work in applique!).  Translating the art into quilt blocks does require some editing for the medium.  The second is that I just hate French knots… they never come out right and I’m pretty sure at some point the ones that are on there are going to get pulled out by a curious kitty.  That’s my embroidery confession.  So there you have a possum quilt block.

Read other posts about this project.

CaddyPossums.jpg

An example of a curious kitty just waiting to pull out French knots.

About micheletobias

I lead two lives - one as an artist and the other as a scientist. More and more I'm finding my two worlds colliding, and it's not the disaster you might expect. View all posts by micheletobias

2 responses to “Possum Quilt Block

I'd love to hear what you think. Leave a comment!

