ArcGIS Tabulate Area Error

Several times I’ve run into an error trying to run the Tabulate Area (Spatial Analyst) tool in ArcGIS.  [I know, I know… I’m more of an open source person, but you gotta use what they’ll let you have at work.]  The error code it gives is “Error 999999 : Error executing function.”  Great.  Cuz that’s helpful.  Here are some things to check.

  1. Did you put the right layers into each input field or should the be switched?  The order matters.  The one with “zone” in the description needs to have the shapefile or raster that defines the zones you want to use.
  2. Does the attribute information you are trying to use have spaces (or special characters like commas)?  Yeah, that doesn’t work.

Now, I don’t promise that one of these is going to solve your problem, but it’s at least something to look into, which Arc doesn’t give you.  I hope someone finds this helpful.  It was intended more as a note for me, since I’ve run into and troubleshot this problem more than once this year not remembering the solution.  That’s what blogs are for!

About micheletobias

I lead two lives - one as an artist and the other as a scientist. More and more I'm finding my two worlds colliding, and it's not the disaster you might expect. View all posts by micheletobias

I'd love to hear what you think. Leave a comment!

