Getting Started with LaTeX

I’ve been thinking for a while that I would like to learn how to use LaTeX.  Aside from being something that geeky types seem to love, it makes documents that look beautiful.  It actually looks easier than getting Word or LibreOffice to behave in predictable ways beyond simple text.  So why am I finally learning how to use this?  I want to submit an article to a journal and they require all submissions be in LaTeX format.  (As an aside, why did they have to make the capitalization of LaTeX so odd?  It’s hard to type!)  I thought I would post some notes on tools I found useful for learning.

Install

You need both a LaTeX engine and an editor.  I installed MikTex as the engine and TexMaker for the editor.

Tutorials

Michelle Krummel has a multi-part video tutorial on YouTube that moves at a good pace (not too fast or slow).  She teaches all the basics you need to understand how to set up a document and how formatting works.  Even though it’s specifically geared towards mathematics, the concepts all apply to what you would need for other sciences as well.

Cheat Sheets

Winston Chang wrote an excellent cheat sheet to remind you of the basic formatting you’ll need.

About micheletobias

I lead two lives - one as an artist and the other as a scientist. More and more I'm finding my two worlds colliding, and it's not the disaster you might expect. View all posts by micheletobias

I'd love to hear what you think. Leave a comment!

