Batch Editing Text in Inkscape

(Sarcasm!) Thanks, R & Inkscape!  I totally wanted to mark my outliers with the letter q!

(Sarcasm!) Thanks, R & Inkscape! I totally wanted to mark my outliers with the letter q!

Have you ever opened a PDF of a graph made in R in Inkscape?  For some reason, it appears that my graphs are made with characters from the Dingbats font, which I guess Inkscape doesn’t like, so when I open the file in Inkscape, it changes all of my nice circles to the letter q.  That’s awesome.  How do you fix that?  Inkscape doesn’t let you batch change the text inside a textbox, as far as I can tell.  So, here’s one way to fix it:

  1. Open the PDF file in Inkscape and save it as an SVG file.  Yes, you’ve now got qs instead of os.  It will be ok.
  2. Close the file.
  3. Open the SVG in a text editor (I like Notepad++).
  4. Do a Find & Replace, finding “q” and replacing with “o”.  I recommend reviewing each instance it finds rather than using “replace all”, because one of those qs might be something else.  Here’s the general kind of text you’re looking for: id=”tspan4049″>q</tspan></text> See that q?  Change it to a o.
  5. Save the files and close.
  6. Open it up in Inkscape and see what you’ve got.

If anyone has a more elegant way to do this, let me know!  I’m sure there’s a way to change the R output from the start so you don’t have this problem, but this solution was quicker than messing with R for now.

All fixed!

All fixed!

About micheletobias

I lead two lives - one as an artist and the other as a scientist. More and more I'm finding my two worlds colliding, and it's not the disaster you might expect. View all posts by micheletobias

I'd love to hear what you think. Leave a comment!

