Floral Tape Alternative

IMG_5390

I’m the family florist.  My freshman year of high school, I took Floristry to fulfill my art requirement (Tangent: Why didn’t I take the drawing class?  Who can remember that now?  Logic isn’t the forte of a 13-year-old.) and ever since I’ve been providing floral services for family members.  I’ve done countless arrangements for my mom (parties, work events, etc.), arrangements to cheer people up (the snowman made out of mums was EPIC), and now I’ve made the bouquets for my cousin and my sister’s weddings.  This last one presented some unique challenges and I’m going to tell you how to solve them: Masking Tape!

The goal: turn several dozen roses, mums, stock, and freesias into 4 bouquets, 2 corsages, and 4 boutonnieres using an ample supply of wire and ribbon and 3 rolls of floral tape.  That’s not unreasonable.  But the floral tape was terrible.  It stuck to itself fairly well with some coaxing, but it really would rather stick to my fingers.  I taught another bridesmaid and a groomsman to wire and tape roses to make things go quicker, and about 30 minute into the process of making the bouquets, we were all so sticky that the tape would only stick to our fingers and not to the flower stems.  We muddled through, washing our hands when things got too sticky with harsh dish soap to get the wax off.

Masking tape!

Masking tape!

When all the roses were wired, I started putting the first bouquet together and disaster struck.  The tape wouldn’t hold around anything larger than 3 stems.  I had a dozen roses to get into this bouquet plus other flowers.  The boyfriend cocks his head to the side, knits his eyebrows together, and says, “What about masking tape?”  Genius!  Since the individual stems were already wrapped, the masking tape wouldn’t get wet and fall apart.  So, the clumps of stems got a heavy wrap of masking tape, then the ribbon wraps went on so no one knew what was holding it all together.

Can't tell what's under that map ribbon, can you?

Can’t tell what’s under that map ribbon, can you?

About micheletobias

I lead two lives - one as an artist and the other as a scientist. More and more I'm finding my two worlds colliding, and it's not the disaster you might expect. View all posts by micheletobias

I'd love to hear what you think. Leave a comment!

