Call for Guest Bloggers

Home-made kite tail for kite aerial photography

Home-made kite tail for kite aerial photography

One of the fascinating things I find about doing biological and geographical research is the tools that scientists make for themselves to help them in their research.  For example, I designed and my dad constructed a set of quadrat frames for me.  I’ve also constructed two low altitude remote sensing platforms and the accessories that go with them like a fuzzy tail and camera housing for my air photo kite.

Now it’s your turn!  What tools have you made or re-purposed to help you collect or process data?  Do you have a creative use for straws?  Have you constructed a tool you couldn’t buy anywhere?  I’m looking for researchers of all kinds who have made their own tools to write a blog post about their creation.  The text can be as short as a paragraph or as long as a page and should describe what the tool is and how you use it.  It can also include instructions for how to make it, if you would like.  All submissions should include at least one photograph of the tool.  Submissions should be emailed to micheletobias [at] yahoo [dot] com.

About micheletobias

I lead two lives - one as an artist and the other as a scientist. More and more I'm finding my two worlds colliding, and it's not the disaster you might expect. View all posts by micheletobias

I'd love to hear what you think. Leave a comment!

