Research Logo

I made this graphic over a year ago to help brand my research.  The idea is that it will be placed on research equipment, like the camera housing for my kite aerial photography rig, and on t-shirts to make field work look more official.  It’s remarkably hard to get people to take research on a beach seriously, not that they have to, but it might be nice since it really is important and might some day save their homes if they live in coastal areas.  I haven’t actually used the logo yet on anything, but maybe that’s something I can fix this summer.

I think it’s pretty obvious that it was inspired by the National Parks’ iconography and it has a lot in common with the Robert Tobias Photography Logo I made for my dad.

You’re probably wondering what the four squares mean or why they have the images that they have.  Well, I study plants (seedling square) that live on beaches (dune square) using kite aerial photography (kite and camera squares).  There ya go!

About micheletobias

I lead two lives - one as an artist and the other as a scientist. More and more I'm finding my two worlds colliding, and it's not the disaster you might expect. View all posts by micheletobias

I'd love to hear what you think. Leave a comment!

