DIY Pond Creature Shenanigans

What are these snails up to?  This afternoon, I noticed the smallest of the trumpet snails were congregating on the surface of my indoor pond and they floated there for hours siphoning the water surface.  It’s odd to see so many of them together since the snails don’t generally hang out in any substantial numbers.

I guess if I knew more about their life cycle, I might understand better what this is all about.  I don’t think they are trying to reproduce because they are very small – about a 10th of the size of the big ones.  Maybe they are schooling for safety?  There’s nothing in the bowl that will eat them.  Maybe the disruption in the surface tension drew them to one place next to each other?

Does anyone know what this is about?

About micheletobias

I lead two lives - one as an artist and the other as a scientist. More and more I'm finding my two worlds colliding, and it's not the disaster you might expect. View all posts by micheletobias

I'd love to hear what you think. Leave a comment!

