Art + Science = Wonder

I follow a page on Facebook (and so does the Experiemental Craft page) called I Fucking Love Science.  Recently, they posted this photo (above) which I find to be both elegant and fascinating.  The reason it’s fascinating is the response people have had to it.  Several people have posted harsh comments that art and science have no place together.  Now, obviously that’s not how I feel.  I just can’t understand how anyone could think art and science don’t work together.  I guess perhaps those people are thinking about the esoteric art – art for art’s sake – but even then I can’t see how you can separate the two.

Art cannot exist without science and science without art.  Every form of art requires some kind of tool or item that is the product of science… paper, scissors, paint… the list goes on.  And where would science be without art to explain complex concepts?

Some of our greatest human beings were both scientists and artists and the two cannot be separated in their work.  DaVinci comes to mind.  So does Joseph Grinnell.  And what scientist worth her salt hasn’t drawn a sketch in her research notebook or produced some kind of diagram, no matter how rough, to explain something?

So what are your thoughts on this diagram?  Can you explain the view that science and art are mutually exclusive (which is counter to this diagram)?

About micheletobias

I lead two lives - one as an artist and the other as a scientist. More and more I'm finding my two worlds colliding, and it's not the disaster you might expect. View all posts by micheletobias

I'd love to hear what you think. Leave a comment!

