Small, Tiny, Shrimpy

At about 4mm, the baby ghost shrimp are just big enough to see.

It had to be any day now, but I was surprised to see that the ghost shrimp eggs hatched today.  I saw something that looked like a particle of plant material floating though the water as if there was a current, but there’s no filter in my fish bowl (we call it the indoor pond).  A closer look revealed a tiny shrimp swimming rapidly around and around.  I found more of them clinging to the glass.  Mostly you can just see their eyes and stomachs, but if you look closely, you can see their tails.

I know the glass looks scummy, but I promise I changed the water yesterday and cleaned the glass… you see all the microscopic detail when you take macro shots.

The photo above was taken with a Canon G9 in macro mode fitted with a Hoya 4x diopter.

About micheletobias

I lead two lives - one as an artist and the other as a scientist. More and more I'm finding my two worlds colliding, and it's not the disaster you might expect. View all posts by micheletobias

2 responses to “Small, Tiny, Shrimpy

  • Veronika

    Awww, adorable tiny critter!

    But, how do you think to change water and clean the glass while avoiding flushing the baby shrimp?

    • micheletobias

      The glass doesn’t need to be cleaned very often, so I think I’ll leave it alone for a while. I’m planning to not change the water for a few days. They’re pretty easy to see against a dark background. I think if I use a dark cup to scoop out the water I’ll be able to see if I accidentally scoop up any of them.

I'd love to hear what you think. Leave a comment!

