DIY Indoor Pond Creatures

Trumpet snails are cool in their own way, but ghost shrimp are majorly entertaining.  They’ve got some spunk, that’s for sure.  I recently picked up three ghost shrimp to add to my indoor pond.

It already had trumpet snails, but they really aren’t that exciting.  I mean, if you pay close attention, they can be quite funny at times, but mostly they just glide around the tank like pointy-ended roombas.

A big trumpet snail.

The shrimp are perfect companions for the snails.  They add a bit of flair because they can swim through the water column.  They move around a lot, looking for food constantly.  If they come across a snail, they tug on it with their claws, which makes the snails jerk away like they are grumpy and don’t want to be bothered.  The shrimp are mainly detritivores, so they aren’t likely to hurt the snails.  I think if they got a tiny one, they might eat it, but one or two lost isn’t a big deal.  I don’t think I’m going to have to feed these guys directly either since the plants seem to provide more than enough food for the snails.

There really only is one problem.  What do you name 3 shrimp?  Ideas are much appreciated.

Ghost shrimp are hard to see and even harder to photograph.

About micheletobias

I lead two lives - one as an artist and the other as a scientist. More and more I'm finding my two worlds colliding, and it's not the disaster you might expect. View all posts by micheletobias

5 responses to “DIY Indoor Pond Creatures

  • Veronika

    Can you tell the shrimp apart? I tend to name living (and sometimes not) things that are alive, but whether they get individually or communally as a group is an important distinction to start with! 😉

    • micheletobias

      I can tell them apart for now. There’s a little one, and two big ones. One of the big ones is carrying eggs, but that won’t be forever, so I’m not sure if I’ll be able to tell them apart once the eggs hatch and the little one gets bigger. Plus, we’ll hopefully have some more.

      Once I had some pond snails and named them “Waldo” as a group, but my fish at the time ate them all.

  • Veronika

    Oooh so there is going to be a hopefully-large addition to the shrimp family? I would love to see photos!

    As to naming – if you can tell them apart, they need names. You could go with Polynesian water and shellfish gods or the like. 😉

  • JC

    This is so cool! I definitely want to start one of my own.
    A few years ago I had a tank with with both fish and ghost shrimp. Sadly, the ghost shrimp died within a week. How long have yours lived?

I'd love to hear what you think. Leave a comment!

