Aerial Photography: Dog Beach

Last summer I made a trip to San Diego for research and packed my kite aerial photography rig.  I ended up getting some shots over Dog Beach, which turned out to be fairly difficult since the wind was not cooperating.  To get the camera high enough to take usable photos, we ended up putting the kite in the air and then walking down the beach to add enough lift to raise the camera into the air.  The scene you see here captured a homeless man’s campsite situated in the dunes.  There were a few of them there, although no one was at them when the kite was taking photos.

About micheletobias

I lead two lives - one as an artist and the other as a scientist. More and more I'm finding my two worlds colliding, and it's not the disaster you might expect. View all posts by micheletobias

I'd love to hear what you think. Leave a comment!

