Dinosaur Plant Update: Mold!

The bad news: it's moldy. The good news: it's curling up like it's supposed to when it dries out.

I’ve now mentally named my dinosaur plant “Moldy-saur”.  I think it needs brighter light than I gave it.  About 2 weeks after reviving it, the mold started and in spite of rinsing it every other day with soapy water and moving it to a brighter window, I couldn’t get it to stay clean.  The company it comes from recommends letting them dry out if they mold, so I’m giving that a try.  The good news is that it is curling up just like it’s supposed to so perhaps not all is lost.  I’ll try reviving it again when the sun is a little brighter.  Maybe this one just needs to hibernate all winter.

About micheletobias

I lead two lives - one as an artist and the other as a scientist. More and more I'm finding my two worlds colliding, and it's not the disaster you might expect. View all posts by micheletobias

2 responses to “Dinosaur Plant Update: Mold!

  • Harry Stemple

    My girlfriends dino plant is having the same issue, I’ll let her know about your drying plan and see if that works 🙂

    • micheletobias

      I hope your girlfriend’s plant gets better, Harry! Sadly, mine didn’t survive the mold.
      In general, I think that the company is making some pretty big claims about how these plants grow. I think they need to be fertilized at the very least, but my next one I’m going to try to grow in soil. I think it’s unreasonable to expect a plant to grow indefinitely without nutrients.

I'd love to hear what you think. Leave a comment!

