Goals for 2012

My blog is about a month old now and I think I’m off to a good start, however, there is always room for improvement.  Many of the blogs I enjoy have a very narrow focus, and I’ve given some serious thought to only focusing on the intersection of art and science perhaps with a more academic bent, but I like just plain art and just plain science too, so I think I’ll continue the mission as I originally envisioned it.  One of the reasons I started this blog was as an outlet to share my art, both scientifically driven and not.

What’s Going Well

Looking at the tag cloud WordPress generates for me, I’m doing a good job balancing the art and science components and there’s an equal portion of DIY in there, so I’m not just showing you stuff, I’m explaining how to do stuff.  I like this.  One thing I’ve enjoyed is shining an artistic light on scientific diagrams.  In the simplicity and clarity is a beauty that I just love.

Room for Improvement

I want to do more or start the following:

  1. Show more of the art that I’ve created – scientific figures, sketches, graphic art, etc.
  2. Show more of the scientific tools that my colleagues, friends, family, and I have created for my research.  Most of the gear I use is not available in stores!
  3. Share more diagrams and figures from other academics that I think are especially effective and attractive.
  4. Feature DIY tools from other academics.  If you’ve made something to help accomplish your research, send me an email (see the Hire Me page for my email address)

What Do You Want to See?

I don’t have many readers yet, but I so completely value the viewers I have.  What do you want to see more of?  What have you liked so far?

 

About micheletobias

I lead two lives - one as an artist and the other as a scientist. More and more I'm finding my two worlds colliding, and it's not the disaster you might expect. View all posts by micheletobias

I'd love to hear what you think. Leave a comment!

